Akron Magazine Winter 2010/11 : Page 26

ALUMNI NEWS Class Notes 1960s Akron developers Edward and Herbert Newman , JD ’65, and their partners announced the creation of a “Green-minded Advanced Student Living Environment,” a new student apartment community located just steps from The University of Akron campus. Send your Class Notes and photographs to alumni@uakron.edu Dr. Nelson is professor and vice chair of clinical affairs in the Department of Emergency Medicine at The Ohio State University College of Medicine. Reverend Jeff Kaiser , BS ’85, has been named executive director at the Haven of Rest Ministries. Frederick R. Karm, Jr. , AAS ’85, BS ’87, has expanded his business at Hoppin’ Frog Brewery due to its success. Leonidas “Lee” E. Plakas , BSBA ’73, JD ’76, partner in the Firm of Tzangas, Plakas, Mannos and Raies, was recently recognized by Super Lawyers Magazine for his professional achievements. The Junior League of Akron announced the winner of the Presidents’ Sustainer Inspiration Award is Janice Skromme Alpeter , BA ’70. Mike Labriola , BAED ’73, MAED ’80, is the new Plain Local School District assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction. Edwin Parms , BAED ’60, JD ’65, was recognized at the annual Achieving Dreams Celebration for his personal and professional achievements. Denise K. Lee , BA ’88, is the new branch manager at the Tallmadge Public Library. 1970s Dorothy Barresi , BA ’79, authored her fourth and newest collection of poems, American Fanatics . Barresi is professor of English at California State University, Northridge. In addition to the American Book Award, Barresi has won two Pushcart Prizes, a Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Emily Clark Balch Prize, and the Grand Prize in the Los Angeles Poetry Festival’s Fin de Millennium poetry competition. The Davey Tree Expert Company has promoted two University of Akron alumni. Thea Sears , BSIM ’91, has been named assistant controller and an officer of the company. Emil Stahli , BS ’77, has been named vice president, finance. Twila Lehman , AAB ’84, has been named Post-Secondary Teacher of the Year by the Oregon Business Education Association. Rory L. Lubic , MS ’89, has been appointed to vice president, purchasing at The Timken Company. Main Street Gourmet won NorthCoast 99 Award for Wellness and is recognized as one of Northeast Ohio’s best places to work for top talent. Steve Marks , BSA ’81, is the CEO of Main Street Gourmet. Additionally, Main Street Gourmet was honored December 2, 2010, as the recipient of the 2010 Medical Mutual S.H.A.R.E. Award as part of the Pillar Award for Community Service Program. This award is designed to honor individuals and organizations for their commitment to corporate philanthropy and community services. The University of Indianapolis has named E. John McIlvried , MA ’80, Ph.D. ’82 to be the first Dean of its Graduate School. Ernest Vargo, II , BA ’78, has been named president and CEO of the Wishard Foundation. Virginia (Buck) Van de Water , M.Ed ’73, received her Ed.D. in Counseling/School Psychology from the College of William and Mary in 1988. She currently has a private consultation practice in the Hampton Roads area, and is president-elect of the Virginia Psychological Association. Dwight McElfresh , MS ’80, has been named dean of the Founders School of Continuing Education at Ashland University. 1980s University of Akron Board of Trustee Chair Ann Amer Brennan , BAED ’56, JD ’82, received the Norman Cohn Hope Award, the most prestigious award presented by the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. Jiri George Drobny , MS ’71, president and principal consultant at Drobny Polymer Associates, recently published a book, Radiation Technology for Polymers , 2nd Edition (CRC Press). Mr. Drobny is a consultant to the polymer processing industry worldwide, a university teacher, and author of several books on polymer technology. He resides in New Hampshire. Karen A. Bozzelli Campbell , JD ’87, has been named president of Akron General Health System’s Charitable Foundation. Former president of Corporate Screening, Dennis Drellishak , BS ’82, will continue with Corporate Screening, the Cleveland-based provider of global pre-employment and background screening services, in the role of CEO and founder. Dr. Todd A. Meyerhoefer , BS ’83, has been named president of Partners Physicians Group. Brad Norton , BSBA ’88, has been named senior vice president of sales and marketing at Freudenberg-NOK. Nicholas T. George , BA ’68, JD ’70, was recognized at the annual Achieving Dreams Celebration for his personal and professional achievements. Jerome Pecko , BAED ’69, MAED ’74, ED ’85, is the new Toledo Public Schools superintendent. The Honorable Carla D. Moore , BA ’74, was recognized at the annual Achieving Dreams Celebration for her personal and professional achievements. Angela Pepoy Smith , BA ’87, is the new assistant superintendent of Madison Local Schools in Lake County. Mari-Lynn C. Evans , BA ’82, has been named Filmmaker of the Year by the West Virginia Filmmakers Festival. Paul Scheatzle , BS ’87, MS ’89, announced the release of his new book, The Journey: Take the Path to Health and Fitness . Dr. Scheatzle graduated from Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1992 and has a private practice in physical medicine and rehabilitation in Massillon, Ohio. Marcus L. Neiman , BSED ’70, was recognized at the annual Achieving Dreams Celebration for his personal and professional achievements. Lisa Guliano , BSN ’85, was named superintendent of the Erie County Board of Developmental Disabilities. Richard N. Nelson , BS ’74 (The Ohio State University, MD ’78), was elected president-elect of the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM). ABEM establishes the credentialing requirements and examinations to evaluate physicians who seek specialty certification in Emergency Medicine. There are currently over 26,000 emergency physicians certified by ABEM. Karen Hackenberry , MA ’80, has been named executive director of the Humane Society of Greater Akron. | 26 |

Previous Page  Next Page

Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here